A thousand ways have passed through my mind about my initial post to launch this blog. None have I liked completely. On the one hand, I want to introduce the reader to why I named the blog, “No Inklings.” On another hand, I’ve wanted to give the reason for my translation of the passage from Proverbs that accompanies my title above. On the other hand, and yes I realize this would mean I have more than two hands, I’ve wanted to express my understanding that I don’t have any inkling about anything.

So with that said, let me just admit I don’t have any inklings, there is no wisdom here. Even when I’m pretending that I know something I am not always entirely sure. No, I’m not promoting agnosticism. I think we can know things. But the number of things I know are small in comparison to things I don’t know. I’m an idiot, a dolt, a dullard (and now I exhausted my synonyms). And despite my attempts to cover this up–I will never know one single thing exhaustively.

But, some time ago someone told me something that I have come to know and hope to learn more about. Dare I call it the knowledge of the holy ones? That truth, I believe, can be best summarized best by this statement:

Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures, and He was buried, and He was raised [from the dead] on the third day.

There it is ladies and gentleman. That statement encapsulates the height of knowledge this blog has to offer. There will be no greater lines written than these. It is all down hill from here. And, here’s the kicker, this statement doesn’t even belong to me. I borrowed it. It is from 1 Cor. 15:3-4.

Now, there are some who would question this statement. How can this be true?

This I know, I have worked to prove that it is not true and failed. I have found very few ways to categorically reject this statement. I have tried other statements about reality or religion and have found them tremendously lacking. But not this statement.

I have sought to find satisfaction in other things and all of them pale in comparison. Everything else breaks down, loses its beauty…dies.

Yet, everything that I hope for is found in this statement and only here. Whether it be peace, security, righteousness, or rest that I seek all of it is  found in these words.

So, here on this blog I’ll hopefully expound on this statement and others found in the Bible. I’ll probably also try my hand with other conversations that in the end will not be as captivating as this statement. Sadly, those other conversations will probably take up more of my time. Even though I know that statement is true, I get sidetracked so much with those other conversations. To be candid, at the end of the day I find I haven’t maintained my focus on this statement perfectly. I have lost my way by the day’s end. I am always back to square one because I have no inklings on how to maintain my focus on it for an entire day. Look at me, so lame and weak. I am only left with 1 Cor. 15:3-4 at the end of the day. It is all I have.

2 thoughts on “I Have No Inklings

Leave a Reply

